Inclusive Livelihood Models

Share: facebook share twitter share

As part of its scale-up work, PACS has developed an Inclusive Livelihood Development Programme. The programme focuses on 8 different livelihood models. Each model aims to enable socially excluded groups to diversify and develop the way they make a living.

8 Livelihood Models

PACS has identified and adopted 8 scalable, innovative and inclusive livelihood enhancement models. Through these models, PACS intends to organise, engage and integrate socially excluded communities into value chains and markets in a sustainable and equitable way.

Although most of the models have been in existence for a while, PACS’s focus on working with socially excluded communities will allow these models to evolve and expand in their applicability and inclusiveness.

The 8 models are:

Benarasi Weavers

Community Based Fisheries

Dairy Farming

Inclusive Value Chains and Markets

Lac Production

Land Rights for Women

Market-Oriented Pro-Poor Crops

Triple Crop Value Chains

Livelihood challenges for socially excluded groups

The challenge for socially excluded groups is two-pronged:

  1. Their landholdings are marginal and under-productive
  2. They have limited access to inputs, credit and market services

The PACS inclusive livelihood development programme is therefore based on addressing these twin challenges.

The programme aims to reach out to the five socially excluded groups with whom PACS works – women, Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes, Muslims and disabled people - because these groups have very limited opportunities to improve their livelihoods.

There is a strong focus on involving and empowering women in particular because income earned by this group is more likely to benefit the overall family, especially children.

Find out more about:

News Articles

Case Studies